IFRS 16 Whitepaper

How IFRS16 will affect your business

 

On 13 January 2016 the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) published new accounting standards for leases. These new rules, better known as IFRS16 - impose some significant changes.

According to the new standards, “lessees” will no longer enter operating leases in their income statements as before. In future they will, rather, both capitalise their “right of use” (equivalent to the net present value of their future minimum lease payments) and report a corresponding liability on their balance sheets.

What effects will IFRS16 have on your business?

Impenetrably complex financial structures in which important capital resources and business assets do not appear on the balance sheet have long been a source of problems for international regulatory authorities (IASB, FASB, SEC). The 2016 IFRS were therefore established in the interest of greater transparency. These standards make it easier to obtain a complete picture of a business enterprise’s assets and liabilities and prevent the misuse of operating leases to hide such expensive assets as aircraft or buildings.

To whom does this change apply?
All enterprises that prepare their financial reporting in accordance with IFRS, including in particular:

  • exchange-listed companies and their subsidiaries in Europe
  • companies that are registered in one of the countries that have adopted the IFRS standards


What consequences are to be expected?
Lessees need to recognise on their balance sheets the “value in use” and a liability on the basis of the contractual details provided by the lessor. The operational benefits of an operating lease are, however, retained:

  • Effective and simple source of financing
  • Improved cash flow
  • Predictable monthly payments
  • Outsourcing of processes that are only incidental to core business activities (fleet management, maintenance, assistance, accident management, fuel management, etc.)
  • Elimination of the risks associated with the asset or its disposal
  • Flexible use
     

You will find more details about the consequences in the Arval white paper “How IFRS16 will affect your business” (PDF).

What are your next steps?

There are two important dates that businesses should take note of in connection with the new directive:

  • The accounting standards go into effect on 1 January 2019 (subject to approval by the European Community).
  • Businesses that apply IFRS15 “Revenue from Contracts with Customers” may use the new standards as early as 1 January 2018.
     

What can you expect from Arval?
With Arval by your side you are perfectly prepared for the changeover to IFRS16. From the very beginning we have pro-actively taken part in the discussions with industry associations and audit firms, and we are making every effort to offer you the simplest and best possible financial reporting solutions. We regard it as our duty to spare you as much work as possible and to provide you in a timely fashion with the information you need in order to apply the new standards. Should you have further questions, please feel free to consult your account manager or request the Arval white paper “How IFRS16 will affect your business” (PDF).

Arval also recommends that lessees settle with their auditors as quickly as possible on the method to be applied for posting leasing liabilities and rights of use.

Glossary

IASB

The International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) is an independent group consisting of 14 experts that possesses the requisite practical experience in establishing accounting standards for the preparation, auditing and use of financial reports as well as in advanced training in accounting. The members of the IASB are responsible for developing and publishing the IFRS.

IFRS

The International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) are a collection of rules for accounting that is developed and perpetuated by the IASB. They can be applied anywhere in the world – in developed, emerging and developing countries alike – enabling investors and other users of financial disclosures to compare directly the financial position of listed companies on an international level. Application of the IFRS is now required in more than 100 countries, including the European Union and in more than two thirds of the G20 countries. The G20 countries and other international organisations have consistently supported the work of the IASB and its mission to create worldwide accounting standards.

FASB

The Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) is a private, not-for-profit market-regulating organisation whose main purpose is to establish and improve in the public interest the Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) in the United States.

SEC

The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) is an agency of the United States Federal Government. Its primary responsibilities are enforcing the federal securities laws and proposing securities rules as well as regulating the securities industry, the nation’s stock and options exchanges, and other activities and organizations, including the electronic securities markets in the United States.

IFRS16

Auswirkungen von IFRS16 auf Ihr Unternehmen

 

Am 13. Januar 2016 veröffentlichte das International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) neue Rechnungslegungsstandards zu Leasingverhältnissen. Diese neue Regeln - besser bekannt als IFRS16 - bringen wesentliche Änderungen mit sich.

Der neue Standard beinhaltet, dass „Leasingnehmer“ nicht mehr wie bisher Operating-Leasingverträge in der Gewinn-und-Verlust-Rechnung verbuchen, sondern künftig sowohl das „Nutzungsrecht“ aktivieren (das dem Nettobarwert der zukünftigen Mindestleasingzahlungen entspricht) als auch eine entsprechende Verbindlichkeit in der Bilanz ausweisen.

Welche Auswirkungen hat IFRS16 für Ihr Unternehmen?

Undurchsichtige Finanzstrukturen, bei denen wichtige Kapitalressourcen und betriebliche Wirtschaftsgüter nicht in der Bilanz erschienen, waren für die internationalen Aufsichtsbehörden (IASB, FASB, SEC) seit jeher problematisch. Um mehr Transparenz zu erreichen, wurden deshalb die IFRS 2016 festgelegt. Diese machen es einfacher, ein vollständiges Bild der Aktiv- und Passivposten eines Unternehmens zu erhalten, und verhindern den Missbrauch von Operating-Leasingverträgen zur Verschleierung hochpreisiger Vermögenswerte wie Flugzeuge oder Gebäude.

Wen betrifft diese Änderung?
Alle Unternehmen, die ihre Finanzberichterstattung gemäß IFRS darlegen, insbesondere:

  • börsennotierte Gesellschaften und deren Tochterunternehmen in Europa
  • Gesellschaften, die in einem der Länder registriert sind, welche die IFRS-Standards übernommen haben
     

Welche Konsequenzen sind zu erwarten?
Leasingnehmer benötigen eine Bilanzierung des „Nutzungswerts“ und einer Verbindlichkeit auf Basis der vom Leasinggeber bereitgestellten Vertragsangaben. Die operativen Vorteile eines Operating-Leasingvertrags bleiben jedoch weiterhin bestehen:

  • Effektive und einfache Finanzierungsquelle
  • Verbesserter Cashflow
  • Vorhersehbare monatliche Zahlungen
  • Outsourcing von nicht zum Kerngeschäft zählenden Prozessen (Flottenmanagement, Wartung, Assistance, Unfallmanagement, Kraftstoffmanagement etc.)
  • Ausschalten der mit dem Vermögenswert und dessen Veräußerung verbundenen Risiken
  • Flexible Nutzung


Mehr Details zu den Konsequenzen finden Sie im Arval Whitepaper "Auswirkungen von IFRS16 auf Ihr Unternehmen" (PDF).

Was sind Ihre nächsten Schritte?

Zwei wichtige Daten sollte man sich im Zusammenhang mit der neuen Richtlinie als Unternehmen merken:

  • ab 01. Januar 2019 tritt die Bilanzierungsvorschrift IFRS16 in Kraft (vorbehaltlich der Genehmigung durch die Europäische Gemeinschaft)
  • Unternehmen, die IFRS15 "Umsatzerlöse aus Verträgen mit Kunden" anwenden, können bereits zum 01. Januar 2018 den neuen Standard nutzen.
     

Was Sie von Arval erwarten können?
Mit Arval an Ihrer Seite sind Sie perfekt auf die Umstellung auf IFRS 16 vorbereitet: Wir haben uns bereits von Anfang an proaktiv an den Diskussionen mit Industrieverbänden und Wirtschaftsprüfungsfirmen beteiligt und sind bestrebt, Ihnen die einfachsten und bestmöglichen Lösungen der Finanzberichterstattung anzubieten.

Wir sehen es als unsere Pflicht an, Ihnen möglichst viel Arbeit abzunehmen und Ihnen die entsprechenden Informationen, die Sie benötigen, um die neuen Standards anzuwenden, rechtzeitig zur Verfügung zu stellen. Falls Sie jedoch Fragen haben, können Sie sich gerne jederzeit an Ihren Kundenberater wenden oder fordern Sie das Arval Whitepaper "Auswirkungen von IFRS16 auf Ihr Unternehmen" (PDF) an.

Arval empfiehlt auch den Leasingnehmern, schnellstmöglich mit ihrem Wirtschaftsprüfer eine Methode zu vereinbaren, die sie für die Verbuchung der Leasingverbindlichkeiten und Nutzungsrechte anwenden werden.

Glossar

IASB

Das International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) ist eine aus 14 Experten bestehende unabhängige Gruppe, die über die entsprechende praktische Erfahrung mit der Festlegung von Rechnungslegungsstandards zur Erstellung, Prüfung oder Nutzung von Finanzberichten und mit Fortbildungen im Rechnungswesen verfügt. Die Mitglieder des IASB sind für die Entwicklung und Veröffentlichung der IFRS verantwortlich.

IFRS

Die International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) sind eine Sammlung von Regeln für die Rechnungslegung, die vom IASB entwickelt und fortgeführt wird. Sie können überall in der Welt angewendet werden – in Industrie-, Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern – und ermöglichen dadurch den Investoren und anderen Nutzern von Finanzausweisen einen direkten Vergleich der Finanzlage börsennotierter Gesellschaften auf internationaler Ebene. Die Anwendung der IFRS ist nun in über 100 Ländern, einschließlich der Europäischen Union, und in mehr als zwei Dritteln der G20-Länder vorgeschrieben. Die G20-Länder und andere internationale Organisationen haben die Arbeit des IASB und dessen Mission zur Schaffung weltweiter Rechnungslegungsstandards kontinuierlich unterstützt.

FASB

Das Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) ist eine privatrechtliche, gemeinnützige marktregulierende Organisation, deren Hauptzweck darin besteht, die allgemein anerkannten Rechnungslegungsvorschriften (GAAP, Generally Accepted Accounting Principles) in den Vereinigten Staaten im öffentlichen Interesse festzulegen und zu verbessern.

SEC

Die U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) ist eine Behörde der US-amerikanischen Bundesregierung. Ihre Hauptaufgaben sind die Durchsetzung der bundesstaatlichen Wertpapiergesetze, die Einbringung von Vorschlägen für Wertpapiervorschriften und die Regulierung der Wertpapierbranche, der Wertpapier- und Optionsbörsen des Landes und anderer Tätigkeiten und Organisationen, einschließlich der elektronischen Wertpapiermärkte in den Vereinigten Staaten.